Skip to main content

Workshop “Patterns of linguistic inequalities in education”

17.11.2022

On 17 November 2022, the Observatoire de l’enfance, de la jeunesse et la qualité scolaire (OEJQS) organised the seminar “Patterns of linguistic inequalities in education”.

A central challenge for education policy in Luxembourg is the integration of pupils with a migrant background into the inherently trilingual school system. Linguistic competence in the three national languages is to be understood as the essence of cultural integration and is deeply embedded in the debate on equal opportunities in education. Moreover, it is a task shared by the formal, non-formal and informal dimensions of education.

In this context, various aspects of teaching and learning in multilingual contexts were discussed at the seminar, e.g. the curricular issue (the chronological order of language learning; literacy in German and/or French); (re-)distribution policies to counteract disparities (targeted allocation of resources, free homework support); types of schools with alternative language policies (international state schools) or the impact of language skills on the whole learning process (including non-language subjects).

Multilingualism and social inequalities are among the thematic priorities of the OEJQS, and both are cross-cutting issues in the education system with its two strands of formal and non-formal education. As the Observatory sees itself as a bridge builder between the different actors in education, our intention is to create a platform for exchange with experts in research, educational practice and educational administration. Through our seminar we want to promote an open exchange between experts in order to identify the main priorities for action in the multilingual education system.

See the seminar programme here:

View the seminar photos here:

Skip to main content

Workshop “Patterns of linguistic inequalities in education”

17.11.2022

Am 17. November 2022 veranstaltete das Observatoire de l’enfance, de la jeunesse et la qualité scolaire (OEJQS) das Seminar “Patterns of linguistic inequalities in education” (Muster sprachlicher Ungleichheiten in der Bildung).

Eine zentrale Herausforderung der Bildungspolitik in Luxemburg ist die Integration von Schülern mit Migrationshintergrund in das inhärent dreisprachige Schulsystem. Die Sprachkompetenz in den drei Landessprachen ist als Essenz der kulturellen Integration zu verstehen und tief in der Debatte um Chancengleichheit im Bildungswesen verankert. Darüber hinaus handelt es sich um eine Aufgabe, die von der formalen, nicht formalen und informellen Dimension der Bildung geteilt wird.

Vor diesem Hintergrund wurden auf dem Seminar verschiedene Aspekte des Lehrens und Lernens in mehrsprachigen Kontexten behandelt, z. B. die curriculare Frage (die chronologische Reihenfolge des Sprachenlernens; Alphabetisierung in Deutsch und/oder Französisch) ; Verteilungspolitiken, um Ungleichheiten entgegenzuwirken (gezielte Ressourcenzuweisung, kostenlose Hausaufgabenbetreuung); Schultypen mit alternativer Sprachenpolitik (öffentliche internationale Schulen) oder die Auswirkungen von Sprachkenntnissen auf den gesamten Lernprozess (einschließlich nicht sprachbezogener Fächer).

Mehrsprachigkeit und soziale Ungleichheit gehören zu den thematischen Prioritäten des OEJQS, und beide haben einen transversalen Charakter im Bildungssystem mit seinen beiden Teilbereichen der formalen und nicht formalen Bildung. Da sich das Observatoire als Brückenbauer zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren des Bildungswesens versteht, war es unsere Absicht, eine Plattform für den Austausch mit Experten aus Forschung, Bildungspraxis und Bildungsverwaltung zu schaffen. Mit unserem Seminar möchten wir einen offenen Austausch zwischen Experten fördern, um die wichtigsten Handlungsprioritäten im mehrsprachigen Bildungssystem zu identifizieren.

Hier finden Sie das Programm des Seminars:

Hier können Sie die Fotos des Seminars anschauen: